Today was extremely therapeutic for me, which I believe I needed. Everyone has a place they love to go that makes them feel relaxed, comfortable, safe, and closer to God. For me the Rocky Mountains are my get away. Since I was born and raised in Colorado, I have been to Estes Park many times, yet every time I go I still act like a tourist by trying to capture as many moments and locations as I can with my camera.

I went with my mom and our first stop, as usual, was Claires for lunch. Afterwards I convinced my mom, who happens to be terrified of heights, to go on a gondola ride up the mountain. Although I’ve been to Estes many times, we usually just walk around the town and check out the shops. I’ve never gone on the gondala, but it was one of the most peaceful moments of my life.

Nature is so therapeutic for me and I can’t explain how I felt closer to God, but I did as I was traveling hundreds of feet in the air. As the mountains got bigger the world below us became smaller along with my problems. Anxiety runs my mind, my whole existence, but looking at God’s beautiful creations I felt a calmness come over me that I feel very rarely. If I could’ve stopped time and just stayed on that gondola at the top of that mountain and read a book I would’ve in a heartbeat. I will forever be a mountain girl and nature always calms my broken mind.

I know there are people out there that don’t believe in a higher power, but I just don’t see how you can look at such breath-taking views and not believe that there is there is something out there bigger than all of us who created this scenery. I felt His presence all around me and as I breathed in that fresh mountain air I was instantly calmed. In those moments, looking at those views, I knew that everything was going to be ok because God is in control of my life. Any battle I have is not mine, but His.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

