We are a society of people filled with negative thoughts. If you’re anything like me than you deal with negative thoughts every day of your life. It is so much easier to let jealousy consume you and think about what you don’t have rather than what you do have. Do you think of the glass half full or half empty? If you answered half empty then consider these aspects in your life and see what you need to work on along with me.

Self-identity❤️
What are your relationships with others like? Relationships in life are a necessary until you enter a toxic relationship where you have to compromise your lifestyle and goals. I have recently had to end a relationship with a friend I had due to her new relationship and compromising her whole life in order to fit her boyfriend’s needs. She has given up her goals, her friends, and her life to satisfy a man who wants to control her every action. Due to her past and low self esteem she believes she needs a man to love her and she will give everything up in order to achieve this love. In my past experience I also was in a relationship like this. I gave up my friends, my hobbies, and my goals. My self identity was gone alone with everything that kept me balanced. When this relationship ended I had no idea who I was anymore.  I didn’t have my security blanket. I didn’t have anyone to please or take care of and I sure didn’t know  how to please or take care of myself. It is important to know how to confront your emotions because most things in life are temporary such as houses, money, the weather, and even relationships.

Self-Acceptance💜
I don’t have the perfect body, I am over-weight, I don’t have Kylie Jenner lips, I don’t know how to contour, my eyebrows aren’t perfectly shaped, my hair is too short, and I will never look flawless in a bikini. When I look in a mirror or someone takes a picture of me I can honestly say that I don’t like the image looking back at me and it’s something I need to work on. Body shaming has always been a problem, especially within the media. When you have self conscious issues then you are going to have a hard time accepting compliments. In order to change this you need to learn how to love and accept yourself for the way you are. 

Expressing your feelings💚
Never compromise your feelings to make others happy. Having low self esteem can entail not expressing your feelings or saying how you feel. I’m not talking about saying something to purposely hurt another person, I’m talking about defending yourself and protecting your feelings. I have had issues with bullies and even comments from people close to me. I experience guilt and anxiety when I defend myself. If you’re like me and care way to much about what people think than you’re going to experience similar issues. This is something I struggle with everyday. I hate confrontation and I have a hard time saying no. Being a people pleaser isn’t always a good thing when you aren’t taking care of your own emotions first.

These are three self-improvement tactics I’m working on right now. Changing your mindset starts with you. I plan on posting daily tips on how to help change your mindset and look at the glass half full. Though I want to help other people with my posts, I’m hoping to confront my own issues and be more positive as well. Never underestimate the power of positivity!

