I have heard complaints from people about how they got the short end of the stick when they were made an introvert in a world full of extroverts. Lets get the actual definition of what an introvert is.

My favorite definition of an introvert is explained by Carol Brainbridge in the article”How Do you Know If Your Child Is an Introvert“. Carol states;

“Contrary to what most people think, an introvert is not simply a person who is shy. In fact, being shy has little to with being an introvert! Basically, an introvert is a person who is energized by being alone and whose energy is drained by being around other people.”

I read in a blog by The Identity Project that introverts are more concerned with the inner world of the mind. While people think that introverts are depressed, anxious and socially awkward, introverts are just more in touch with their inner emotions and thoughts. I like social gatherings in short periods of time and although I like being around others, it is important for me to have my own space to refresh. Making friends is more difficult because of the energy it takes for me to make small talk.

God has made me an introvert and He has made me in His image. I like to think that a piece of God is just as introverted as I am and He is pleased with my personality.

Although I may not be the most social in church and I don’t get together with my community to make the world a better place, there are ways that I can honor God with my introverted personality.

Here are some bible verses that really call to my attention. I also found these in “The Identity Project”

“And when it was day, he departed and went to a desolate place”. (Luke 4:42)
“But he would withdraw to desolate places and pray.” (Luke 5:16)

Although introverts may not go door to door preaching the word of God, we are excellent with biblical meditation.

Jesus took time to rest along with his disciples. Jesus listened to them and told them to seek a desolate place and rest awhile. (Mark 6:30-31)

So if you are an introvert you may seem like you aren’t doing much to help out your church or community, but that is not the case. You help others and praise God in your own introverted way.

